Why do Refs call intentional grounding throughout the game but when a QB spikes the ball to stop the clock it's legal?
Because there are multiple receivers in the general vicinity of the ball?? What's the rule? Within 5 yards or something? Anyway, probably just a special rule like Rhans said...kinda like the rule that let's the holder participate in a fake FG even though his knee was down at some point when he had the ball.
It's because he's not trying to avoid a sack. Otherwise, anyone think a coach would complain if a qb wanted to do that 3 times in a row? I'd take it.
ok can someone explain why flynn wasn't down on the fake field goal (vs sc) even though his knee was down, my wife asked me that, i didn't know the answer.
So if the rule states that the holder must rise before attempting a pass, then why was Flynn's pitch legal?