Welcome to TigerFan.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the LSU community.

How was your weekend's weather?

Discussion in 'The RoundTable' started by Fishhead, Feb 12, 2013.

1. Fishhead

Fishhead Veteran Member

This was about 8 miles N of me Sunday afternoon. Amazingly, no fatalities. Video ends at USM.

2. fanatic

fanatic Buckle your seatbelts...

Wow. I know the EXACT area where that was filmed. I graduated from USM and still have friends and family in the area. Like you said, amazing that no one died given the size of the tornado.
  3. stevescookin

stevescookin Certified Who Dat

Apparently, Michael had to change his underwear several times during that storm chase. :eek:
    lsutiga and fanatic like this.
  4. lsutiga

lsutiga TF Pubic Relations

Tornados have always scared me. If we're under a watch I won't sleep cause I want to be able to at least pull my kids (and if I have time, maybe wife) into the restroom in the center of our house.
  5. Fishhead

Fishhead Veteran Member

After the first couple times, if I was in the car, Michael would've been saying 'hmmph hmmph hmmph hmmph' thanks to duct tape.
  6. Fishhead

Fishhead Veteran Member

I'm fascinated by em. I'm mad that I didn't go up there. I was watching the radar and KNEW it was a big tornado, due to the clear radar signature. It literally had an 'eye' at times like a hurricane, which you almost NEVER see with a tornado. I had plenty of time to get up there, but had the boys with me for the day. I didn't wanna leave em at my parents, so I just stayed put. But it would have been such an easy chase, with Hwy 98 to traverse east or west, and Hwy 589 to skirt north to Hwy 49 if necessary...as well as the interstate right there for that matter.
  7. red55

red55 curmudgeon