During the game, UGA scored on a defensive play to go ahead 7-3. On that play, an UGA defender is reaching into a pile of players and ultimately rips the ball from the hands of whomever was in the middle of that mess, and returned it for a touchdown. My question: HOW is that STILL a live ball??? When you look at some of the rules reguarding the ball carrier, if the player is on the ground, the play is dead. If there is a fumble, and the refs are standing trying to see who got the ball, then the play is dead. Right? So it seems to me, that any player NOT in the pile shouldn't be able to rip the ball from another player's hands (because, in college, by rule, if you have possession of the ball and you are on the ground, you are down--play is dead) and then return it for a TD. I mean, I was pulling for the UGA over GT because of the SEC ties, but I thought that play/rule is strange.
If you look closely, the ball is in between a defenders legs and not being handled by anyone. I was wondering the same thing at first. The ref saw it and was right next to the ball. It was a good call.
ok. Thanks, I only saw the replay of that late in the 4th quarter and I thought it looked fishy. Thanks for the explanation. :thumb: