Wall mounted LCD TV questions

Discussion in 'New Roundtable' started by BAY0U BENGAL, Nov 10, 2009.

1. BAY0U BENGAL

BAY0U BENGAL I'm a Chinese Bandit

I have a 46 inch LCD flat screen and want to mount it above the fireplace mantle. My only fear is that I have never done this before and I don't wanna jack anything up. The wall doesn't have any studs, so I'm not sure how to approach this project. Any suggestions?

2. tirk

tirk im the lyrical jessie james

3. Bandit88

Bandit88 Old Enough to Know Better

Are you sure there aren't any studs? I find that hard to believe, but maybe it's true.

DO NOT mount it to the drywall only, for sure.

I've done this mounting twice (so to speak) and the first time I only had one stud conveniently placed. But it was plenty enough - I used two hefty hex-head screws (top and bottom) and used dry wall anchors elsewhere (lots of them). When I say hefty, I mean hefty. I can't remember size, but the screw itself was bigger than 1/4" in diameter. Worked like a champ. Second one was not an issue - good studs, normal spacing.

It seems unlikely that a contractor would build a box around your fireplace flue that didn't have studs normally spaced. I hate to be redundant, but if you haven't used a stud finder, I would invest in one - well spent $10.

4. BAY0U BENGAL

Well, it seems that there are studs. But they're further up the fireplace and horizontal. Is this normal or is the builder a whacko?

5. TigerBacker70

TigerBacker70 I'm the Cock of the Walk!