Best statement!

Discussion in 'The Tiger's Den' started by BostonBengal, Sep 28, 2003.

1. BostonBengal

BostonBengal Founding Member

You'll have to excuse me for not recalling the anouncers name, but in the game tonight, one of the commontators mentioned Saban's recent mentioning of becoming an NFL head coach--and he stated that he asked Saban the same question and got this answer:

Saban: "I don't know who keeps saying that and where they keep getting it from....Just because I was an assistant coach in the NFL?"

The announcer continued in saying: "Saban likes it where he is--loves working with young players--loves make a difference." ..."Also, money is not an issue like it was up until 5 years ago--Major colleges will provide the same pay as an NFL team."

Made my evening!

Made a lot of sense (the explanation by the announcer)...I mean, here's a coach that has dedicated to making LSU into a national power. We're moving forward in giving the program the things that he (Saban) has asked for--improved fascilities, etc. and he's got a fan base that, as we all know, is 2nd to none!

He's got a contract that gives him just as much as an NFL team would. Doesn't have to deal with piss-a$$ed attitudes of NFL players--or their garbage. Has the entire spirit of a school, city, state and fanbase that embraces him more so than the president!

The guy could run for governor in Louisiana and probably win in a land-slide!

:geaux:

2. NOSA

NOSA Founding Member

The only thing IMO he has to gain in the NFL is more prestige and attention really. The money is no different. Plus he couldn't rip NFL players as much as he does college players. He would really miss that.

3. Swamper

Swamper Freshman

Bill Curry was the announcer who said that

4. BostonBengal

BostonBengal Founding Member

Thanks, Swamper

5. Geaux5000

Geaux5000 Founding Member