Late season rut

Discussion in 'Sportsman's Paradise' started by BAY0U BENGAL, Jan 22, 2021.

1. BAY0U BENGAL

BAY0U BENGAL I'm a Chinese Bandit

Apparently in the southwest zone, the bucks are still chasing does. Had a few bucks come up on the cameras once or twice, but this guy found a hot doe and was staying on my plot longer and longer. I hunted him once, then had couldn’t make it back to the woods. He started coming in earlier and earlier Friday through Sunday of this past week. Finally on Monday, I was able to get in the stand around 2 that afternoon. About 3:00 a doe came out. I hunt a powerline that’s got some rye planted, but it’s a perfect ambush spot because they bed about 100-150 yards to my west, and feed off to the east. But this dude came out to see that doe around 3:40 and I dropped him at about 65 yards with a 45-70.

this is my first year back to hunting full time, and first time to hunt a specific buck. It’s also my first real trophy. Second deer of the season and I’m gonna hunt in the heat next week to try to knock down one or two more, to make it through the summer.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. KyleK

KyleK Who, me? Staff Member

Nice BB! I don't deer hunt, but love the spoils! My brother in law and his tribe have killed 5 so far this year. I process them, so I get lots of meat. They are hoping to get a couple more next week also. That will go a long way toward getting us through the summer as well.

BAY0U BENGAL likes this.
  3. CajunlostinCali

CajunlostinCali Booger Eatin Moron

Nice!

Now get back to work. Bigfoot season is on in Oklahoma and that shit is gonna spread. Once starkville take's hold, game on.You'll be working double shifts keepin up with crazy.

BAY0U BENGAL and shane0911 like this.
  4. shane0911

shane0911 Helping lost idiots find their village

5. Bengal B

Bengal B Founding Member

He lives in Mississippi. That's a redneck deer

6. shane0911