LSU all-time team

Discussion in 'The Tiger's Den' started by Ellis Hugh, Mar 27, 2002.

  1. Ellis Hugh

    Ellis Hugh Space Wrangler

    Aug 9, 2001
    Likes Received:
    Athlon sports has ranked an all-time LSU team. It's a good read. I posted the whole thong below, or

    click here to go to the article to see the same thing but with a picture of an LSU cheerleader

    LSU's All-Time Team
    There has never been a better quarterback at LSU than Bert Jones, the only All-America quarterback in school history. Jones threw for 28 touchdowns and ran for eight more as a Bayou Bengal, and he was the second overall pick of the 1973 NFL Draft.

    The most celebrated player in LSU history is halfback Billy Cannon, a two-year All-American and Heisman Trophy winner of 1959. Cannon gave us one of the most memorable moments in the annals of college football with his 89-yard punt return against Ole Miss in 1959, his famous Halloween Night Run, on which he broke seven tackles to score and win the game for LSU, extending the defending national champions’ winning streak to 19 games. Kevin Faulk ran for more yards in his career, 4,557, than any other LSU back. Charles Alexander’s 1,686 rushing yards in 1997 are the school single-season record, and Alexander totaled 4,035 yards for his career.

    Josh Reed won the 2001 Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s best receiver after setting an SEC record with 1,740 receiving yards and leading the nation with 145 yards per game. Wendell Davis holds school records with 183 career receptions and 19 touchdown catches, and was the leader in receiving yardage at 2,708 until eclipsed last year by Reed at 3,001. Ken Kavanaugh was an All-American in 1939 after catching 30 passes and went on to a stellar pro career with the New York Giants. David LaFleur, a 1996 All-American, caught 71 balls from his tight end position during his time at LSU, but he was most feared as a punishing blocker. All-Americans Lance Smith, Nacho Albergamo, Tyler Lafauci and Alan Faneca are joined on the Tigers’ all-time offensive line by Bo Strange and Max Fugler, who spearheaded the unit during LSU’s imcomparable campaigns of the late-50s, and two-time All-SEC guard Eric Andolsek.

    Gaynell "Gus" Tinsley was a two-time consensus All-America two-way end who led the Tigers to two SEC titles and three Sugar Bowls and later was an all-pro with the Chicago Cardinals of the NFL. Roy "Moonie" Winston was a unanimous All-America guard in 1961 who played both ways but made his name on defense. Ronnie Estay was a super-quick tackle on the 1971 LSU defense that allowed the fewest yards in the nation. Estay is noted for having tackled Auburn’s Pat Sullivan and Ole Miss’ Archie Manning for safeties. All-conference tackle A.J. Duhe and All-America noseguard Anthony McFarland round out the Tigers’ all-time D-Line. McFarland was the SEC co-Freshman of the Year in 1995 and Defensive MVP of the 1996 Peach Bowl.

    LSU football tradition is rich in linebackers. Trev Faulk entered the NFL Draft this year after his junior season, having led the Tigers in tackles for the last two years. He leaves Baton Rouge with an even 300 tackles for his career. George Bevan, Mike Anderson and Michael Brooks all made All-America as LSU linebackers, and Warren Capone was a two-time All-American.

    Tommy Casanova was a three-time All-American and maybe the most versatile backfield performer in school history as a ball-carrier, return man and defensive back. Jerry Stovall was the Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1962. Johnny Robinson was an All-SEC performer who is probably best-known for his 12-year All-Pro career with the Kansas City Chiefs. Greg Jackson was an All-American in 1988, the year he intercepted seven passes and scored on returns of 100 yards and 71 yards.

    David Browndyke holds most of LSU’s career placekicking records, including most field goals, most PATs and highest field-goal percentage. In all, Browndyke scored 292 points for the Tigers. Chad Kessler was a consensus All-American in 1997, when he became the first punter in college football history to average over 50 yards per punt for a season.

    LSU's All-Time Roster
    WR Wendell Davis 1984-87
    WR Josh Reed 1999-2001
    E Ken Kavanaugh 1937-39
    TE David LaFleur 1993-96
    OL Lance Smith 1981-84
    OL Eric Andolsek 1984-87
    OL Nacho Albergamo 1984-87
    OL Tyler Lafauci 1971-73
    OL Charles "Bo" Strange 1958-60
    OL Max Fugler 1957-59
    OL Alan Faneca 1995-97
    QB Bert Jones 1970-72
    RB Billy Cannon 1957-59
    RB Charles Alexander 1975-78
    RB Kevin Faulk 1995-98
    K David Browndyke 1986-89

    DL Gus Tinsley 1934-36
    DL Roy Winston 1959-61
    DL Ronnie Estay 1969-71
    DL A.J. Duhe 1973-76
    DL Anthony McFarland 1995-98
    LB Warren Capone 1971-73
    LB George Bevan 1966-69
    LB Mike Anderson 1968-70
    LB Michael Brooks 1983-86
    LB Trev Faulk 1999-2001
    DB Jerry Stovall 1960-62
    DB Greg Jackson 1985-88
    DB Johnny Robinson 1957-59
    DB Tommy Casanova 1969-71
    P Chad Kessler 1994-97
  2. tigerman7024

    tigerman7024 Founding Member

    Oct 21, 2001
    Likes Received:
    Thanks Ellis, cool link and fun article.

    I would recommend we pick a captain for the is my vote. :D

Share This Page