LSU v Virginia: Another Loss

Discussion in 'The Tiger's Den' started by TGer'nLHornLand, Jan 2, 2011.

1. TGer'nLHornLand

TGer'nLHornLand Founding Member

Well, no thread on the Virginia game, and frankly that's probably appropo given that if this was a home game, there'd be likely little attendance. This was the first game I could watch on TV and I have to say, I studied the "film."

First, as always, I'm trying to be objective, at the same time, positive. Second, UVA, despite having a similar record, plays in the ACC, has a good coach in Tony Bennett, and was a 6 point favorite at home. So, if you look at it as LSU was supposed to lose, well, we lost. We competed I thought, and although we lost by 14, it got that way towards the end on free throws by UVA (which we couldn't make, again)... sounds familiar. Throughout most of the game, we were down, but would find ways to cut the lead down. Actually had a brief lead midway in the second half.

Here's the reality. Not only are we inexperienced and young, but frankly, there are just some little deficiencies all over the court. To be fair, Tony Bennett is a solid, fundamental defensive minded coach, and also to be fair to Trent, Trent has done very well against Tony in the past, beating him before at LSU, plus at Stanford. So, it's not like we were simply "out matched" coaching wise. But, UVA clearly wanted to jump out on our backcourt where they had a size and physicality advantage on Stringer. Neutralizing Stringer, aside from some points from Turner and a little life down low by Green and White, we really didn't have the guns. We shot poorly again, mid 30s in 2 point land and a pretty poor 25% from 3 land. There were some open shots that just didn't go down, to go with a lot of chippies missed down low, that Malcolm had. But, overall, UVA just did a little bit better in every way, more bounds, more assists, and more FTs.