My Letter to the Editor of the Greater Baton Rouge Business Report...

Discussion in 'Free Speech Alley' started by TigerEducated, Apr 15, 2004.

1. TigerEducated

TigerEducated Founding Member

I penned this little letter to Rolfe McCollister, Jr., the editor of the Greater Baton Rouge Business Report after seeing him come out editorially on his daily updated website (www.daily-report.com) against the proposed location of the Bass Pro Shop in my hometown of Denham Springs, Louisiana.

What do you guys think?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mr. McCollister,

I am a Denham Springs resident. I'll say it first thing.

Now that I've gotten that out of the way, I must admit that I've enjoyed and read with regular, consistent interest your reports and stories on both your businessreport.com and daily-report.com websites. I really enjoy them. I am looking forward to seeing what changes are made on both sites as a result of the survey you recently put online to improve them.

Having said that, I must also say that almost unequivocally, I've never disagreed with a single comment made on either of your sites. Even Mr. Ball's interesting views on LSU Athletics (which, as a 25 year old former LSU student, I am an avid fan of). That is, never until Tuesday night.

While at work (in Baton Rouge), I perused the daily-report.com site and its daily smorgasbord of local information (which I wish was greatly expanded in its volume, depth, and breadth from a coverage standpoint). I found your own opinion interspersed, which has been happening a little lately, regarding the proposed Bass Pro Shop location in Denham Springs, Louisiana.

It was with great shock I read about your actual disapproval with the venture. It was with even greater shock that I continued to read, and found little to no substance beyond your disagreement with the venture.