Playoff Idea

Discussion in 'The Tiger's Den' started by CoastalNole, Apr 17, 2007.

1. CoastalNole

CoastalNole Founding Member

1 person likes this.
  2. DRC

DRC TigerNator

Another idea that wont work. Who in their right mind would have Central Michigan, Troy and Houston in ANY playoff scenario? Thats nuts.

3. Nutriaitch

Nutriaitch Fear the Buoy

Short of re-algning all of division 1 to the point where there is no "mid-major" conferences, no playoff would be "fair or legit". I have a syatem I've been working on for a couple of years, but I keep hitting walls where it just won't work. All a playoff system will do is move the controversy, not fix it. Anyone want to offer me suggestions, PM me, and I'll outline what I already have for you.

Unless someone can come up with a plan that involves absolutely NO HUMAN or COMPUTER POLLS, it will not work. We need a plan with legit tie-breakers, one that decides ALL conference champs in the same manner, etc. etc.

4. JakeTheTiger

JakeTheTiger Founding Member

That is impossible. How would you seed without polls? I don't think anyone thinks we can rid the system of controversy, just lessen it.

5. Nutriaitch

Nutriaitch Fear the Buoy

EVERY professional sports league manages to seed without polls.

6. JakeTheTiger

That is a different beast. They don't have near the amount of teams. They play more opponents, rather than the NCAA conference play.

Seeding is pretty much the same thing as a poll. The only way to take out computers and humans is to have some sort of random seeding.

7. Nutriaitch

Nutriaitch Fear the Buoy

NFL teams currently play 13 different opponents per year, the NCAA plays 12. Not a big difference. The NFL is broken into 2 conferences, 8 divisions.