I think someone should tell them that rule 9-2 should be rolled up tightly and shoved up some 80 year old NCAA rules committee reprobate's rear end.
Absolutely! They both did, Scott first tapped himself on the chest before he put his hands in the air....but so did Green! So, why come out now changing their minds about the call??? This is such BS!
The ball was NOT touched past the line of scrimmage until AFTER the interference. But it's a moot point. The interference happened first.
It was the correct no call. If you were listening to the announcers for CBS, they were totally full of crap, as usual, and not looking at the whole rule. It didn't matter if he was outside the tackle box or got it across the line of scrimmage because there was a receiver in the vicinity of the "throw." No intentional grounding and no safety.
The time you're referring to, yes, he was interfered with before the pass. I was referring to the wrap up in your photo.
The interference was clearly before the "tip" that was about a foot in front of the receiver that was already being held. Can't argue with the pic it's all right there.
But who CARES if an athlete calls attention to himself? As someone said in another thread, it's a game, and it's supposed to be fun. Elite athletes all have a swagger about them; they're cocky. What's wrong with that, anyway?
georgia fans are ticked that the head of officials is a GT grad. evidently this has been the case on other calls they didnt like. and did you hear that brando is talking about how race plays in to the celebration calls?
FWIW I happen to agree with you. I was merely describing what I saw, and what possible motivation the referee would have to make those calls. ESPECIALLY because the rule is so nefarious and so subject to personal interpretation.